Search Here

Header Image
About Us

About The Spokane Shock


The Spokane Shock are a professional football franchise competing in the Indoor Football League (IFL). The Shock play at Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena on their home field, dubbed Deaf Valley, in beautiful downtown Spokane, Washington. The team’s rabid fan base, the 9th Man Shock Wave, create an unmatched gameday experience.

The Shock are three-time indoor football champions and boast an overall regular season record of 134-50 (.728) with a 14-6 (.700) playoff mark.  In Spokane’s arenafootball2 expansion season, the team won the 2006 ArenaCup, repeating as 2009 ArenaCup winners.  The franchise was elevated to the Arena Football League (AFL) in 2010, subsequently winning ArenaBowl XXIII to become the first indoor football organization to win both the ArenaCup and ArenaBowl.  The 2020 Shock will attempt to become the first to win titles in their inaugural af2, AFL and IFL campaigns.

In 2019, an ownership group led by former NFL All-Pro defensive tackle and Super Bowl champion Sam Adams purchased a franchise in the Indoor Football League before acquiring the original Spokane Shock intellectual property.  Adams has previously owned multiple Indoor Football franchises during his 14-year NFL career.

On July 9, 2011 the Spokane Shock made history playing the first ever “Indoor Football” game outdoors. The contest set the record for the largest crowd to witness an arena football game when 16,233 saw the Shock defeat the Utah Blaze 76-49 at the Joe Albi Stadium Summer Classic.

The Shock’s inaugural 2006 season quickly endeared the team to the community with the squad posting a 14–2 regular-season record, first-place finish in the National Conference Western Division and a league leading attendance average of 10,313 fans per home game. During the af2 playoffs, the Shock defeated the Bakersfield Blitz and Arkansas Twisters to win the af2 National Conference Championship and a berth in ArenaCup VII against the Green Bay Blizzard. On August 26, in San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Shock defeated the Blizzard 57–34 to become the first af2 expansion team to win the ArenaCup.

Originally founded in 2005, the Shock won division titles in all four af2 seasons.

The Spokane Shock were sold to Seattle businessman Nader Naini who rebranded the team as the Spokane Empire. The Empire played 2 seasons before closing in 2017.